Do You Love Me?

 John 21:15-25 

Many sermons have been taught about this passage.

Jesus dined with some of the disciples by the Sea of Galilee, eating fish and bread. After they had eaten, Jesus spoke to Simon Peter.

Jesus: Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me more than these? 

Peter: Yes, Lord; you know that I love you. 

Jesus: Feed my lambs. 

Jesus (the second time): Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me? 

Peter: Yes, Lord; you know that I love you. 

Jesus: Feed my sheep.

Jesus (the third time): Simon, son of Jonas, do you love me? 

Peter was grieved because Jesus said to him the third time, Do you love me? 

Peter: Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you. 

Jesus: Feed my sheep. Truly, when you were young, you dressed yourself, and walked where you would go: but when you shall be old, you shall stretch forth your hands and another shall dress you and carry you where you would not go.

This Jesus spoke, signifying by what death Peter should glorify God. 

Jesus: Follow me. 

Turning around, Peter saw John following, who had leaned on Jesus’ breast at the last supper and asked, Lord, who is he that betrays you? 

Peter (to Jesus): Lord, and what shall John do? 

Jesus: If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to you? Follow me. 

Then this saying went abroad among the brethren, that John should not die. Yet Jesus did not say to Peter, “He shall not die” but “If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to you?”

John is the disciple who testifies of these things and wrote these things: and we know that his testimony is true. 

And there are also many other things which Jesus did. If every one should be written, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that should be written. Amen.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

