John 20:24-31. Thomas Did Not Believe (vs 24-29), The Purpose of John’s Gospel (vs 30-31) 

Thomas Did Not Believe (vs 24-29) 
Thomas, one of the twelve, called Didymus, was not with the other disciples when Jesus came. 

The other disciples (to Thomas): We have seen the Lord. 

Thomas: Except I shall see the print of the nails in his hands, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into his side, I will not believe. 

After eight days his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them.

Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst. 

Jesus: Peace be to you. 

Jesus (to Thomas): Reach your finger here, and behold my hands; and reach your hand here, and thrust it into my side: and do not be faithless, but believing. 

Thomas: My Lord and my God. 

Jesus: Thomas, because you have seen me, you have believed: blessed are they who have not seen, and yet have believed. 

The Purpose of John’s Gospel (vs 30-31) 
And truly Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples, which are not written in this book: But these are written, that you might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing you might have life through his name.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

