Prediction of Peter’s Denial

Found in Matthew 26:30:35, Mark 14:27-31, Luke 22:31-33 and John 13:36-37

Matthew 26:30-33

When they had sung a hymn, they went out into the mount of Olives. 

Jesus: All of you shall be offended because of me this night: for it is written, I will smite the shepherd, and the sheep of the flock shall be scattered abroad. (Zechariah 13:7) But after I am risen again, I will go before you into Galilee. 

Peter: Though all men shall be offended because of you, yet I will never be offended. 

John 13:36-37 

Simon Peter: Lord, where do you go? 

Jesus: Where I go, you can not follow me now; but you shall follow me afterwards. 

Peter: Lord, why can’t I follow you now? I will lay down my life for your sake. 

Luke 22:31-33 

The Lord: Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat: But I have prayed for you, that your faith fail not: and when you are converted, strengthen your brothers.

Peter: Lord, I am ready to go with you, both into prison and to death. 

Matthew 26:34-35 

Jesus: (Will you lay down your life for my sake? – John) Truly, this night, before the cock crow (twice – Mark), you shall deny (that you know – Luke) me three times. 

Peter (more vehemently – Mark): Though I should die with you, yet will I not deny you. 

Likewise also said all the disciples.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

