The Holy Spirit Will Come 

John 14:16-31 
Jesus has just told the disciples that he will leave them and go to prepare a place for them. After preparing the place he will return and receive them to himself.

Jesus spoke these words to his disciples:
And I will pray to the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see him, neither does it know him. But you know him; for he dwells with you and shall be in you. I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you. 

Yet a little while, and the world will see me no more; but you see me. Because I live, you shall live also. At that day you shall know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. He who has my commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves me. And he who loves me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him. 

Judas (not Iscariot): Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?

Jesus: If a man loves me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come to him, and make our dwelling place with him. 

He who does not love me does not keep my sayings.

The word which you hear is not mine, but the Father’s who sent me. 

These things have I spoken to you, being yet present with you. 

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things that I have said to you to your remembrance.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you: not as the world gives, give I to you. 

Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. You have heard how I said to you, “I go away, and come again to you.” If you loved me, you would rejoice, because I said, “I go to the Father:” for my Father is greater than I. And I have told you before it happens that, when it is happens, you might believe. 

Hereafter I will not talk much with you: for the prince of this world comes, and has nothing in me. 

John records Jesus mentioning the “prince of this world” (Satan) two other times:

      John 12:31 Now is the time for judgment on this world; now the prince of this world will be driven out. 

      John 16:7-11 …if I do not go away, the Comforter will not come to you; but if I depart, I will send him to you. And when the Comforter is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: Of sin, because they do not believe on me; Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and you see me no more; Of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged. 

As the Father gave me commandment, so I do that the world may know that I love the Father.

Arise, let us go from here.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

