Jesus Washed the Disciples’ Feet

Luke 22:23-30
The disciples began to enquire among themselves, which of them it was who would do this thing.” (Speaking of betraying Jesus)

And there was also a strife among them, which of them should be accounted the greatest.

Jesus: The kings of the Gentiles exercise lordship over them; and they that exercise authority upon them are called benefactors. But you shall not be so: but he who is greatest among you, let him be as the younger; and he that is chief, as he who serves.

For which is greater, he who sits at meat, or he who serves? Is it not he who sits at meat? But I am among you as he who serves.

You are they who have continued with me in my temptations. And I appoint to you a kingdom, as my Father has appointed to me; That you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom, and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel.

John 13:2-20 

Supper was ended, the devil having (already – ESV) put into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him; Jesus knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he was come from God, and went to God; 

Jesus rose from supper, laid aside his outer garments, took a towel and girded himself with it. After that he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the towel wherewith he was girded. 

Then Jesus came to Simon Peter. 

Peter: Lord, do you wash my feet? 

Jesus: What I do you don’t know now; but you shall know hereafter. 

Peter: You shall never wash my feet. 

Jesus: If I do not wash you, you have no part with me. 

Simon Peter: Lord, wash not only my feet, but also my hands and my head. 

Jesus: He who has bathed does not need to wash, except his feet, to be completely clean: and you are clean, but not all. 

For Jesus knew who would betray him; therefore he said, You are not all clean. 

So after he had washed their feet and had taken up his garments, Jesus sat down again. 

Jesus: Do you know what I have done to you? You call me Master and Lord: and you say well; for so I am. If I, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet, then you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. Truly, the servant is not greater than his lord; neither is he who is sent greater than he who sent him. If you know these things, happy are you if you do them. 

I speak not of you all, for I know whom I have chosen, that the scripture may be fulfilled, “He who eats bread with me has lifted up his heel against me.” (Psalm 41:9)

I tell you now before it happens, that, when it is comes to pass, you may believe that I am he. 

Truly, he who receives whomever I send receives me; and he who receives me receives him who sent me.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

