The Lord’s Supper (The Last Supper)

All four gospels tell of the Lord’s supper. Today we will look at the most familiar part of the Lord’s supper, found in Matthew 26:17-29, Mark 14:12-26, Luke 22:7-22 and John 13:1. Each gospel contributes some unique details.

Luke 22:7-8

Then came the day of unleavened bread, when the passover must be killed.

Matthew says, “the first day of the feast of unleavened bread.” (26:17)

Jesus (to Peter and John): Go and prepare us the passover, that we may eat.

Mark 14:12-17

His disciples: Where would you have us go and prepare, that you may eat the passover?

Jesus: Go into the city, and there a man bearing a pitcher of water shall meet you: follow him. And wherever he shall go in, say to the goodman of the house, The Master says, (My time is at hand – Luke 22:10) Where is the guestchamber, where I shall eat the passover with my disciples? And he will show you a large upper room furnished and prepared: there make ready for us.

His disciples went forth, and came into the city, and found all as Jesus had said to them: and they made ready the passover.

And in the evening Jesus came with the twelve.

John 13:1

Now before the feast of the passover, Jesus knew that his hour was come that he should depart out of this world to the Father. Having loved his own which were in the world, he loved them to the end.

Luke 22:14-16

And when the hour was come, Jesus sat down, and the twelve apostles with him.

Jesus: With desire I have desired to eat this passover with you before I suffer: For I say unto you, I will not any more eat thereof, until it be fulfilled in the kingdom of God.

Matthew 26:21-29

Jesus (as they ate): Truly, one of you, who eats with me, shall betray me.

And they were exceeding sorrowful.

Every one of them: Lord, is it I?

Jesus: He who dips his hand with me in the dish, the same shall betray me. 

Luke says “Behold, the hand of him who betrays me is with me on the table.” Matthew puts this segment before the bread and the wine. Luke puts it after.

Jesus (continued): The Son of man goes as it is written of him: but woe to that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! It would have been good for that man if he had not been born.

Judas (who would betray Jesus): Master, is it I?

Jesus: You have said.

And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and blessed it, and broke it, and gave it to the disciples.

Jesus: Take, eat; this is my body.

Luke adds, “which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me.” (22:19)

And Jesus took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them.

Jesus: Drink all of it; For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins.

Mark tells us “they all drank of it.” (14:23)

Luke says, “This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.” (22:20)

Jesus (continued): But I will not drink henceforth of this fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

