The Parable of the Talents

Matthew 25:14-30 (Matthew is the only gospel that records this parable. Similar to The Parable of the Pounds Luke 19:11-28)

Jesus told a parable:
The kingdom of heaven is like a man traveling into a far country, so he called his own servants and delivered to them his goods. To one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one; to every man according to his abilities; and straightway took his journey. 

Then he that had received the five talents went and traded with them and made five talents more. And likewise he that had received two, he also gained another two. But he that had received one went and dug in the earth and hid his lord’s money.

After a long time the lord of those servants came and reckoned with them. He who had received five talents came and brought the other five talents.

First servant (who had received five talents): Lord, you delivered to me five talents. Look, I have gained besides them five talents more. 

His lord: Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord. 

The next servant (who had received two talents): Lord, you delivered to me two talents. Look, I have gained two talents besides them. 

His lord: Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord. 

The servant who had received the one talent: Lord, I knew that you are a hard man, reaping where you have not sown, and gathering where you have not strewn seed: And I was afraid, and went and hid your talent in the earth: See, there you have that which is yours. 

His lord: You wicked and slothful servant, you knew that I reap where I did not sow, and gather where I have not strewn seed: You ought therefore to have put my money to the exchangers, and then at my coming I should have received mine own with interest. 

The lord: Take the talent from him, and give it to him who has ten talents. For to every one who has shall be given, and he shall have abundance. But from him who has not even that which he has shall be taken away. And cast the unprofitable servant into outer darkness, where there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

