Luke 18

The Widow and the Unjust Judge – Luke 18:1-8 

Jesus: Men ought always to pray, and not to faint; 

There was in a city a judge, who feared not God, neither regarded man. There was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of my adversary. 

He would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself: Though I do not fear God, nor regard man; Yet because this widow troubles me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me. 

The Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge says. And shall not God avenge his own elect, who cry day and night to him, though he bear long with them? 

I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man comes, shall he find faith on the earth? 

The Pharisee and the Publican – Luke 18:9-14 

Jesus spoke this parable unto certain who trusted in themselves that they were righteous and despised others.

Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican. 

The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank you, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess. 

The publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes to heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner. 

I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one who exalts himself shall be abased; and he that humbles himself shall be exalted.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

