The Unforgiving Servant 

Matthew is the only gospel that tells this parable. 

Matthew 18:23-35 

The kingdom of heaven is like a certain king, who took account of his servants. When he had begun to settle his accounts, one servant was brought to him, who owed him ten thousand talents. The servant was not able to pay. His lord commanded that he be sold, and his wife, and children, and all that he had, and payment be made. 

The servant fell down and worshipped him.

Servant: Lord, have patience with me, and I will pay you all. 

The lord was moved with compassion, and loosed him, and forgave him the debt. 

But the same servant went out, and found one of his fellow-servants, who owed him a hundred pence.

6,000 pence (or denari) = 1 talent

1 pence was a day’s wage for a servant

So 100 pence was a good bit of money, but little compared to the 10,000 talents that the first servant owed to the king. 

The first servant laid hands on the fellow-servant who owed him money, and took him by the throat.

First servant: Pay me what you owe. 

His fellowservant fell down at his feet, and begged him.

Fellow servant: Have patience with me, and I will pay you all. 

(These are the very words the first servant had said to the king.)

But he would not. He cast him into prison, till he should pay the debt. 

So when his fellow-servants saw what was done, they were very sorry, and came and told their lord all that was done. 

His lord: O you wicked servant, I forgave you all that debt, because you asked me: Shouldn’t you also have had compassion on you fellow-servant, even as I had pity on you? 

His lord was angry, and delivered him to the tormentors, till he should pay all that was due to him. 

So likewise shall my heavenly Father also do to you, if you from your hearts shall not forgive every one his brother their trespasses.

About jennyf

I love God's Word.
This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Unforgiving Servant 

  1. I’m not quite sure on my understanding but are you saying that unless you forgive everything from everyone, you aren’t saved?

    • jennyf says:

      I’m not giving any interpretation actually. I’m just telling what the Bible says.

      The verse you are referring to is Matthew 18:35. I recommend that you read the whole parable in a few different translations, praying for wisdom and understanding.

      May the Lord bless you as you seek to know Him.

      • Oh I understand the Scripture but the basis for being saved only by forgiving everyone of everything is inaccurate. Forgiveness is a biblical command for both Jews and gentiles but the verse you’re alluding to is only for Jews. I pray your wisdom and understanding as well.

      • jennyf says:

        Thank you for your pray. That is my desire.

        My intention truly is not to interpret anything. Right now, I am sharing the events of the gospels in chronological order. My purpose is to excite people about the Scriptures and hopefully make them curious enough to open their Bible and read it for themselves. Then God can help each of them to understand His message.

      • I understand and I think your aim is incredible. I pray others get into and deeper in his Word. God bless

Leave a Reply

